Province of Quezon
Get Directions →
Church of Saint Louis, Bishop of Toulouse was initially created in 1593 but destroyed in 1629. The second church was constructed between 1630 and 1640, gutted by fire in 1733 and reconstructed in 1738. It was partly destroyed during the World War II in 1945 and renovated by the Philippine Historical Commission in 1966. It is surrounded by gardens, grottos and stone walls called quince-quince. It enshrined the image of San Isidro Labrador.
The Church of Saint Louis, Bishop of Toulouse is a lofty facade with curved, almost cloudlike outlines and cornice volutes. Almost in staggering contrast are the columns set in high relief. Combined with the arched windows and the portal with decorative keystone, the Church of Saint Louis, Bishop of Toulouse presents a fanciful facade. Horizontal molding gently flow through the wall expanse from end to end, enhancing the cloudlike effect and echoing the curves of the arched windows. The filials are intricately carved, capping the columns at the pediment area. The bell tower rests to the right of the churchs, rising three tapering levels, topped with a weathervane. Both the facade and the belltower are finished with lime and cement. – wikipilipinas.org
Lucban celebrates the Pahiyas Festival every 15 May in honour of the patron saint of farmers, St Isidore the Labourer. This festival showcases a street of houses which are adorned with fruits, vegetables, agricultural products, handicrafts and kiping, a rice-made decoration, which afterwards can be eaten grilled or fried. The houses are judged and the best one is proclaimed the winner. Every year, tourists roam the municipality to witness the decoration of houses. – wikipedia.org